Home > General, Spam > Stopping the guestbook spammer- part 2

Stopping the guestbook spammer- part 2

If you’re looking for the Michael Pollitt who left a spam message in your guestbook (or in other response forms), it wasn’t me.

W V Fiber, the upstream provider to Inhoster.com (where the guestbook spammer is spamming from and hosting a drug web site) has just said:

Hello,

This complaint was sent to the customer and it’s being dealt with. 85.255.116.178 will be taken down soon.

Thanks,
WV Fiber Abuse Team

I hope that Inhoster takes down 85.255.116.178-85.255.116.182 inclusive for reasons given in my earlier post on this topic. However, Inhoster did not respond to my direct complaint. Will it listen to WV Fiber?

Today’s searches have shown that this spammer has used my name and e-mail address around 2,000 times, resulting in a flood of e-mail. He has also used other names in his campaign.

Update 10 March: The above IP range is still active and I’m continuing to receive e-mails as result of the spamming. I have complained again to WV Fiber and suggested they read a few comments about Inhoster.

Reply from WV Fiber just in

They (sic) normal turn-around time is no more than 72 hours. I’ll follow up with them and see what the hold up is.

Update 13 March: It seems that Inhoster (thanks to pressure from WV Fiber) has now kicked the spammer off 85.255.116.178-85.255.116.182 inclusive. The spamvertised web site has moved to a different provider in the US but is currently not working (403). I’ve also had no further e-mail messages as a result of guestbook/form spamming. However, I’m not giving up the investigation until I’m sure the spammer has stopped using my details for his spam campaign.

Update 14 March: Would it be tempting fate to say I think the spammer has stopped? No more e-mails have come my way, the IP range now seems benign, and the web site that sat there – 1-800-pills.com – has gone elsewhere. It’s also non-functional. [just for the record, the spam also led (via redirects) to search-pharmacy-online.com which is hosted elsewhere] So, Denis Basargin, I hope that you don’t spam using my name (or Ann Elisabeth, Halz, Lemat and others) again. If you’re set on more guestbook spamming,then stop using real names and e-mail addresses.

  • Share/Bookmark
Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.